Beginning Anew

I have for some time felt a terrible ennui concerning posts, truly struggling to find points of interest and the words to express them.

The truth is I am entering a period of reflection, I find myself  more and more interested in MAKING, instead of discussing (at times pontificating) about what has been made. My blogging friends , Thom of the marvelous Form is Void and the very fine artist Clive Hicks-Jenkins have offered splendid support in this arid period. As have other readers, I appreciate that.

Clive in particular has offered wise advice, if you are not interested in yakking away ,why not post the progress of your work?

I had thought of that before, and I have from time to time posted snippets of my work. But I confess a hesitancy. When I have posted work the response has from time to time been quite vitriolic, I was shocked by the harshness. I am self taught/self learning, it is often a rough road for me. I struggle with how things “ought” to look, my desire to emulate work that I so enthusiastically admire and a constant fear that the sand is slipping away so very quickly.

At times it is crippling, the harsh critique, even when warranted- which most likely it  was- only added to the chorus within my head. For that reason, I have hesitated to take Clive’s advice and emulate his own delightful Artlog.

But I have now decided my timidity is hampering any opportunity to record my progress, to explore other options and to openly engage with others. For many (most) of my readers the new blog Boondocks Babylon will be of little interest. It will be a space devoted to personal reflection, my struggles in the studio and day to day concerns. I really ought to make it a private blog, but I have developed friendships through Babylon Baroque and wish to extend an invitation to those readers to pop in from time to time.

Babylon Baroque will continue, the posts may be less frequent, but my interests in art and culture will  surely be piqued once again ; I will reserve this blog for established art.

For now,  Boondocks Babylon will keep track of my own daubs.

Until next time,

please take care,

Babylon Baroque

Garnier Opera House, Paris

10 Responses to “Beginning Anew”

  1. carla fox Says:

    I, for one, will avidly follow your progress/process in the studio, Leonard. I will miss the more frequent postings here, but totally understand where you are coming from. Looking forward to Boondocks Babylon!

    • babylonbaroque Says:

      Dear Carla, You are such a dear, thank you, that means a lot.
      LG

      • carla fox Says:

        Leonard….not at all! I appreciate the fact that you put yourself out there and am amazed at what you write and share. Can’t wait to see your work, too. I am on an artistic journey as well, and I’ve debated whether or not to blog about it, but I just don’t have the nerve, time or inclination to do it. If I’m writing about it, I’m not doing it. And time, as you say, is short and I’ve got a lot of work yet to do. So, tell us who this “hater” or nay-sayer is and we’ll tar and feather them!

      • babylonbaroque Says:

        Well as is apparent from the sage advice i have received we must go forth in confidence.
        But there is that point of time, spent writing or doing?, that is the question.
        Will try to muster both for exposure (and encouragement and constructive criticism) fosters the initiative to create more dynamic work.
        LG

  2. I’ve left a comment on your new blog but would like to add something here. Who are these people who have left harsh and negative remarks about your work? My guess is that their comments were left anonymously, which says all one needs to know. Really, the comments one leaves always say more about the person who left them than anything else, so please don’t take such criticism personally. I realize it can be difficult sometimes, especially to a sensitive soul, but one must simply delete such words (literally and metaphorically) and carry on. I know this from both my own blogging experience, and from various reviews of my albums. When someone writes a bad or even hurtful review, I just figure they didn’t “get it” and pity them for feeling compelled to show their limitations. Then I give thanks for those who do indeed find something in my output which resonates with them. And then I just continue doing what it is I do, because that’s all that can be done!

    • babylonbaroque Says:

      Dear Thom,
      Much appreciated.
      The one instance in particular ( others have left withering comments, anonymously , and yes I quickly deleted them) was not at all anonymous . He was a fellow I think from Australia or some other colony, bright, erudite and frankly interesting. I liked what he had to say aside from the harshness directed at the work ( which was STILL in progress). The rather pitiful point is how I engaged discussion with this fellow, a torturous exchange that must have fulfilled some latent masochistic tendencies I had heretofore been unaware of .
      Well I will now carry on, fortified with the armor of such sweet friends.
      LG

  3. Bravo Thom. Well said.

    Leonard, you’ve had a bad experience and it’s made you hesitant. But the studio is no place for self doubt seeded by people who don’t know you, or who are uninformed, or who are plain malign and stupid. I’ve blogged openly about my work for nearly two and a half years now, often… as you know… sharing images of works in progress. In all that time I haven’t received nor had to trash a mean comment. That’s probably down to luck, but it’s made me more trusting of the blogging world than your experience has made you. I think your new site is a good solution. With luck the visitors you attract will be like-minded and their comments will be supportive. But let me add this. If anyone comes to your site and is horrid, be sure that we your blogging friends will answer them and see them off.

    Advice:

    Visit blogs you like and find creatively helpful. Leave friendly and appreciative comments to encourage the efforts of those who run them. Occasionally the people you admire will return the compliment, and bit by bit you too will build a supportive following. This has been my method, and is the way I’ve found a hugely supportive network of fellow-bloggers. Dave Bonta, Kathe Koja, Marly Youmans and Zoe Blue are just a few of those I met through blogging who went on to become friends I value deeply. We all try to help each other. Advice, appreciation and enthusiasm flow freely between us, both online and in e-mails. It’s a good model.

    Don’t hesitate because of your past experience. Put that behind you. Have an adventure my dear Leonard. I think you’ll find all will be well!

    • babylonbaroque Says:

      Thanks Clive,
      Well one would be a fool to trash your work, that is plain and simple.
      That said your Artlog is my inspiration and I will “brave” the critics. So grand, there have been only three, I act as if an invading army of barbarians have invaded my hamlet.
      What stung was one critic in particular well versed in humanism and apparently I failed Plato miserably. That hadn’t been my attention,I still feel an artist must trust his/her own instinct but the shadow of the Renaissance and the Baroque looms heavily upon me.His words only sealed my own insecurities. But as my husband, the psychoanalyst likes to remind me, it was only one voice in a chorus of friends and supporters- why do I heed the one? You, Thom, Carla and others are such dear friends, that is appreciated.
      I couldn’t agree more concerning other blogs and the development of far flung support, most particularly as I am now in this backwater.Thank you again for your kind encouragement. I have been working on a few more maquettes, will post soon. They really are delightful to make.
      Yours in adventure,
      LG

  4. Hey Len, Follow your heart. You are a brilliant man. Dave is right; don’t let one thing hinder you. Love you, Aunt Beverly

Leave a Reply

