Babylon Beefcake


No rhyme or reason, just cute fellas long gone…

sourced from The Haunted Lamp

Love this guy, so damn cute!

Enjoy the weekend my friends,

warm wishes from  Babylon

9 Responses to “Babylon Beefcake”

  1. I pick bachelor #2! Ooh la la!

    Here’s one I like so much and you might like too – it’s really way too small, but to me he looks like Johnny Depp.

  2. from what I can see, which unfortunately is limited, poor old eyes; but yes quite a dapper fellow!

  3. Thank you for the inclusion!. The football(?) player is ……wow, to say the least.

    • babylonbaroque Says:

      Hello,
      Yes, he is quite…wow,
      He has a name, Arthur Karpus, played on a Michigan football team, explains the wholesome good looks, image is from 1918.
      Your image is really too much, should say he was too much, his attitude is priceless.
      Take care,
      LG

  4. …the beauty in these images not only lies in the faces of the subjects, but in the process in which they were retained. Tintypes and Collodion process…what a beautiful art-form! Love them all!!!

    Dorothy-

    • babylonbaroque Says:

      I love them also, my Nana gave me a stash of daguerreotypes when I was a young boy, i still treasure them, always on the lookout for more.
      Hope all is well,
      LG

  5. What a great blog. The images today remind me the concept of Christian Masculinity that spawned the YMCA (the song or the institution..I’m not sure which).

    • babylonbaroque Says:

      I appreciate your defining Christian Masculinity, the concept seems quite applicable to these images; also hints of wholesome patriotism, a chosen people.
      I am cobbling together another post, along similar lines, will keep your concept in mind.
      BTW, I enjoy Alpha Omega Arts, will pop in again, happy for the introduction, the sacred is a recurring personal theme in my work.
      Take care,
      Leonard

Leave a Reply

