Sabbath Chair week 13/Thomas Hope

My Sabbath chair this week will honor the Christian sabbath.

The following is after a design by the eccentric Classicist  Thomas Hope. Designed in 1802, the height of Neo-Classical fashion, this chair wasn’t made until ’92.

It was well worth the wait.

Chair

ca.1807 designed

ca. 1892 made

Thomas Hope

(1769-1831)

Mahogany with brass inlay

made by Edwards and Roberts, london

Victoria & Albert collection

Based upon a design found in Hope’s classic Household Furniture, 1807, it reflects his distinctive understanding of ancient furnishings. Household Furniture is a must for anyone serious about the decorative arts. It is a dream tour through Hope’s home, collections, tastes and thinking.It is so much more then a folio of pretty furniture, it is a moment  and place captured in elegant line drawings reminiscent of the fashionable Flaxman.

This week’s featured chair has an especially handsome star and palmette decorative scheme rendered in inlaid brass.

I love the foppish Hope, wealthy (Hope diamond a family jewel, dirty pun intended), brash, and with marvelous broad taste. I love how he expressed Egyptian taste, as well as other ancient styles.

I will close with two images of Hope as one just isn’t enough for a man of such grandeur.

oil on canvas 1798

William Beechey (1753-1839)

National Portrait Gallery, London

You have to love a man who dolls up in costume a la Turk to have his portrait painted.

Just one more as the coloring is so much more vulgar, making me happy.

Have a wonderful weekend , take a moment to remember fallen soldiers throughout history.

2 Responses to “Sabbath Chair week 13/Thomas Hope”

  1. Very beautiful and important chair! I’d like to find this kind of forniture in IKEA. Maby that´s why I don’t love IKEA. Sometimes I feel pity for living in this period.

    And I love the “vulgar clours” of the Hope portrait too. I’m a vulgar colors connaisseur!

    I´ll say it again: “beautiful blog!”

    Please, pardon my english.

  2. babylonbaroque Says:

    Thank you,
    I’m happy you liked it. Hope is a favorite of mine.
    and yes we do live in a slip shod age, but I rather love IKEA for it’s simple design and often wondrous ingenuity at a remarkable price.
    I am also happy you like lurid coloring.
    Check in again,
    Babylon Baroque

Leave a Reply

